The Rex Montgomery Dissertation Prize

Rex Montgomery

The Rex Montgomery Dissertation Prize is endowed by a generous gift from Dr. Rex Montgomery and recognizes the most meritorious dissertation by a doctoral student conducting research in prevention of disease and/or the translation of research into clinical practice.

Students from a variety of graduate programs are eligible, including the biomedical and health sciences, as well as related social sciences.

Departments are limited to nominating one candidate. To be eligible, students must have received or completed all requirements for the doctorate between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2019. Recipients of the Rex Montgomery Prize receive a cash award and are honored in the spring at a special reception held in conjunction with the James F. Jakobsen Graduate Research Conference, organized by the Graduate Student Senate.


Nominations for the 2019 award are due June 19, 2019.

Montgomery Prize winner

Arianna Rigon (Neuroscience) won the Rex Montgomery Dissertation Prize in 2018.

In her dissertation, Rigon advanced the understanding of the underlying cognitive and neural networks responsible for the impairment of facial affect recognition in patients with traumatic brain injury.

See a list of past winners and their dissertation titles.