Graduate Council

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council shall consist of the deans of the Graduate College as ex officio nonvoting members, thirteen members elected from the graduate faculty, and four graduate students chosen by the Graduate Student Senate for one-year terms.

Faculty representation on the Graduate Council shall consist of eleven collegiate representatives and two at-large representatives. One collegiate representative shall be elected by the graduate faculty of each of the colleges of Business, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health. Three collegiate representatives shall be elected by the graduate faculty of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The two at-large representatives shall be elected by the graduate faculty as a whole.

The Graduate Council holds meetings every two weeks while school is in session. The Graduate Council serves as the executive committee of the graduate faculty, assisting and advising the dean in the conduct of college business.

See Part 2, Section XVI of the Graduate College Manual: Membership, Duties of the Council, Term of Office for Faculty Members, Presiding Officer, Advisory Committee, Election Procedure for Faculty Members

Graduate Council Members 2017-2018

MemberDepartmentTerm Expires
Jeffrey BanasPediatric Dentistry 2018
Kurt Anstreicher Management Sciences2018
Nate FethkeOccupational & Environmental Health2018
Carrie FigdorPhilosophy & Neuroscience (at-large member)2018
Russell GanimAsian & Slavic Languages & Literature & Germans2018
Dale Eric WursterPharmacy2018
Steven VargaMicrobiology & Pathology & Immunology (at-large member)2019
Joshua WeinerBiology2019
Barbara RakelNursing2019
Shaoping XiaoMechanical Engineering2019
Frederick QuellePharmacology2020
Kembrew McLeodCommunication Studies2020
Pamela WeselyTeaching & Learning2020
Student MembersRepresentative for:Term Expires
Ian Faith (GSS Pres.)Fine Arts & Humanities2018
KaLeigh WhiteSocial Sciences & Education2018
Addison WollBiological & Medical Sciences2018
Jennifer VernieroPhysical, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences2018
Ex Officio MembersDepartment
Heidi Arbisi-KelmGraduate College
Shelly CampoGraduate College
John Keller, ChairGraduate College
Sarah LarsenGraduate College
Jennifer TeitleGraduate College
Wendy DangerGraduate College