Graduate Council Rules and Duties

The Graduate Council serves as the executive committee of the graduate faculty, assisting and advising the dean in the conduct of college business.

The Graduate Council consists of the deans of the Graduate College, thirteen faculty (eleven collegiate representatives and two-at large representatives) and four graduate students chosen by the Graduate Student Senate.

Members serve for three-year terms and each spring elections for new members are held in colleges with a retiring member or in a campus-wide graduate faculty election for one of the two at-large members.

See Part 2, Section XVI of the Graduate College Manual: Membership, Duties of the Council, Term of Office for Faculty Members, Presiding Officer, Advisory Committee, Election Procedure for Faculty Members