Graduate Council

2019-2020 Staff Council

The Graduate Council shall consist of the deans of the Graduate College as ex officio nonvoting members, thirteen members elected from the graduate faculty, and four graduate students chosen by the Graduate Student Senate for one-year terms.

Faculty representation on the Graduate Council shall consist of eleven collegiate representatives and two at-large representatives. One collegiate representative shall be elected by the graduate faculty of each of the colleges of Business, Dentistry, Education, Engineering, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health. Three collegiate representatives shall be elected by the graduate faculty of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The two at-large representatives shall be elected by the graduate faculty as a whole.

The Graduate Council holds meetings every two weeks while school is in session. The Graduate Council serves as the executive committee of the graduate faculty, assisting and advising the dean in the conduct of college business.

See Part 2, Section XVI of the Graduate College Manual: Membership, Duties of the Council, Term of Office for Faculty Members, Presiding Officer, Advisory Committee, Election Procedure for Faculty Members

Graduate Council Members 2019-2020

MemberDepartmentTerm Expires
Kembrew McLeodCommunication Studies2020
Frederick QuellePharmacology2020
Pamela WesleyTeaching and Learning2020
Azeez ButaliOral Pathology, Radiology, and Medicine2021
William DoucettePharmacy Practice and Science2021
Kate GfellerMusic2021
Paul HribarAccounting2021
Diana HuberNursing (at-large member)2021
Patrick O'ShaughnessyOccupational & Environmental Health2021
David CwiertnyCivil & Environmental Engineering2022
Jiyeon KangCommunication Studies (at-large member)2022
Naomi GreyserAmerican Studies2022
Barbara RakelNursing2022
Student MembersRepresentative for:Term Expires
Christian Bako (GSS Pres.)Physical, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences2020
Emma GabrieleFine Arts & Humanities2020
Kody WaldsteinBiological & Medical Sciences2020
KaLeigh WhiteSocial Sciences & Education2020
Ex Officio MembersDepartment 
John Keller, ChairGraduate College 
Heidi Arbisi-KelmGraduate College 
Shelly CampoGraduate College 
Wendy DangerGraduate College 
Jennifer TeitleGraduate College 
Steve VargaGraduate College